Quality Marks and Regulators

If you have not had to seek legal advice before, it can be difficult to choose the right legal practice or lawyer to help with your legal issue.

The Law Society’s quality marks can help you find legal advice quickly and confidently. These accreditations award a quality mark to legal practices and individuals who meet the highest standards of technical expertise and client service in specific areas of law. All of the quality marks are voluntary.

When you see the quality mark logos, you’ll know that the technical legal skills and client service standards have been rigorously and independently tested by the Law Society.

The Law Society Conveyancing Quality mark

Moving house or selling a property? You need a quality conveyancer.

The Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme is the recognised quality mark for legal experts in buying or selling property, trusted by some of the UK’s biggest lenders.

Conveyancing Quality Scheme members will:

  • explain the steps in buying or selling a home
  • tell you what service you can expect from them
  • be honest about what the costs will be
  • keep you informed through the process

About Law Society Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation

All CQS members undertake an assessment on an annual basis to ensure that all staff have the necessary skills and knowledge to hold the CQS accreditation. Once accredited, staff continue to demonstrate that they have the required level of knowledge, skills, experience and practice through the completion of on-going mandatory training.

The Conveyancing Quality Scheme is officially recognised by the Legal Ombudsman, the Association of British Insurers (ABI), UK Finance (formerly the CML) and the Building Societies Association (BSA). Lenders including HSBC, Santander, Nationwide, Clydesdale, MetroBank and Yorkshire Bank all recognised that Conveyancing Quality Scheme members provide a service that can be trusted, granting our member firms entry onto their residential mortgage lender panels.

The Solicitors Regulatory Authority

The SRA Standards and Regulations set the ethical and professional standards that are expected from solicitors, and from law firms that are regulated, as well as the people that work in those firms.

There are 7 Principles that all people and law firms that are regulated must meet. This means that they must act:

  1. in a way that upholds the constitutional principle of the rule of law, and the proper administration of justice
  2. in a way that upholds public trust and confidence in the solicitors’ profession and in legal services provided by authorised persons
  3. with independence
  4. with honesty
  5. with integrity
  6. in a way that encourages equality, diversity and inclusion
  7. in the best interests of each client